Embassy of the Republic of Mozambique in Tokyo, Japan JAPANESE Map of the Embassy Contact us
Home News Visa Events Diplomatic Personel Tourism & Investment General Information on Mozambique Links

General Information on Mozambique

Map of Mozambique


The Republic of Mozambique lies on the southeast African coast and has borders with six countries - Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Swaziland and South Africa.


Covers an area of 799,380 sq. km.

Administrative Divisions

11 provinces (Cabo Delgado, Niassa and Nampula in the north,
Zambezia, Tete, Sofala and Manica in the center, Gaza, Inhambane and Maputo in the south),
28 districts, 387 administrative posts, and nearly 100 towns, 23 of which are classified as cities.


Tropical and subtropical. Temperatures are high in the months from November to April (22-31c),
but moderate from May to October (13-24c).


Estimated at 17,400,000.


Christian denominations (Catholics, Methodists, Anglicans), and Moslems

Capital City

Maputo: population estimated at 1,322,562.

Major Towns

Maputo, Beira, Nampula, Nacala and Quelimane.

Official Language

Portuguese (English is widely spoken in business and academic circles.)

National Languages

Bantu-origin languages such as Makua, Mwani, Coti, Ndau, Sena, Shona, Tswa, Chope, Bitonga, Changane, Xitswa, Chpe, Ronga, Elomwe, Chuabo, Nyabdja, Kimwani, Chimakonde.

Independence Day

June 25, 1975 - Independence from Portuguese colonial rule.

Politics and Government

Multi-party democracy in which the role of law is enshrined in the 1990 Constitution. The President of the Republic is directly elected for a five-year term.

Back to Top
Embassy Guide
Map of the embassy and contact details.
Foreign visitors to Mozambique are required to obtain a visa. In Japan.
Event Information
News from the Embassy
Information of Tourism and Investing in Mozaqmbique
Photo GalleryPhoto Gallery Photo sampleTo Photo Gallery

1-33-14 Sakura-shimmachi, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo 154-0015 JAPAN

Tel : +81-3-5760-6271/2, Fax : +81-3-5760-6274

Copyright (C) 2007 Embassy of the Republic of Mozambique in Tokyo